

MINUTES OF THE 90th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

OF CYCLING NEW ZEALAND ROAD & TRACK INCORPORATED (CNZ RTX)

Held JULY 12, 2023 commencing 7:30pm

Via Teams Meeting

The Meeting commenced at 19:33

Erin Criglington Chaired the Meeting

1.0 ROLL CALL

CNZ RTX Life members: Bruce Goldsworthy (BG) (Patron), John McDonnell (JM), Garry Bell (GaB), Mark Ireland (MI)

CNZRTX Council: Erin Criglington (EC) (president), Mike Sim (MS) (Past President) Mark Ireland (MI), Ryan Cooney (RC), Olivia Spaans (OS)

Clubs:

Auckland Schools Cycling Inc - Brendan Patterson

Counties Manukau Cycling Inc - Mike Giddey

Cycling Marlborough - Warren Hall

Cycling New Plymouth - Chris Lang

Cycling Southland - Erin Criglington

Forestland Wheelers Cycling Club - Graeme Bell

HuttCross - John Cuthbert

SouthernCross CX - Ryan Cooney

Tasman Wheelers Inc - Peter Ogilvie

Tauranga Road Cycling Club Inc - Mark Ireland

GUESTS

Simon Peterson (CNZ), Chris Christensen (CNZ), Steve Stannard (CNZ RTX board member), Camillo Spath

VOTING STRENGTH: A quorum was not reached this any confirmation and voting will be carried forward to a Special General Meeting – date to be advised

It was highlighted that in terms of 10.5 Quorum: Both of the following must be achieved for a quorum to exist at a General Meeting:

- (a) at least 30% of the Voting Members; and
- (b) one Voting Member from at least 50% of Registered Clubs,

It was noted that not achieving a quorum may be an untended consequence of moving from centres to clubs, and clubs not understanding the requirements.

2.0 APOLOGIES

Stephen Cox (Dynamo), Bev May (Life Member), Rachelle Spencer (Council), Steve Moore (SouthernCross CX), Joe Chapman (Cycling Otago)

Motion that apologies be accepted

Erin Criglington/Brendan Patterson

CARRIED

Motion that visitors have speaking rights

Erin Criglington/ Bruce Goldsworthy

CARRIED

3.0 MARK OF RESPECT

The president asked that all present observe a moment silence for those members and associates who have passed since the last AGM

Malcolm Ellis

Hubert (Hughie) Watson

Geoff Seipolt

Trevor Gibbs

Colin Thomas

Trevor Barlow

Richard (Dick) Johnstone

Gordon Wapp

Rex Aanensen

Doug White

Lois Grigg

Ian Nicol

Garry Overend

4.0 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The minutes of the 89th General Meeting Virtually on May 22, 2022, have been circulated along with this agenda.

Motion that the minutes of the 2022 AGM be affirmed, and to be confirm at a special general meeting

Olivia Spaans / Mark Ireland

CARRIED

5.0 MATTERS ARISING

BG noted that the quorum may be set at too high a level based upon the interest of clubs. The Quorum and the numbers needed was discussed and will be looked into.

6.0 PRESIDENTS REPORT

Circulated along with this agenda as well as being included in the CNZ report.

EC also thanked the council members who have supported her since the last AGM, and added a special thank you to Andrew McKay and Patrick Harvey who are stepping down from council.

GaB: Comment on the presidents report along with the transformational update that had been circulated in the last week, He queried whether RTX were being kept information and noted the areas of interest to RTX are:

Governance at the Board level, additional funding, SLT Policy and procedures, roles and responsibilities, Athlete Pathways

EC advised that MO updates with SP were yet to be reconvened and advised that EC and SS have regular conversations following the Board meetings.

SS spoke to the meeting, and advised that the CNZ Board is undergoing a governance review; there are limited resources and CNZ not flush with funds, and still has to focus on meeting the HPSNZ obligations; athletes progress – is still a wait and see how it all plays out. It was noted that there has been no conversations that SS or EC have been aware of regarding the Report. SS also noted that SP, the New CEO is picking up things as he goes along, especially with the current focus being on the 2024 Olympics. He noted the report includes things that need to be done as well as what has been done.

SP spoke to the meeting and acknowledged Life members and club members and acknowledged the last 18 months has not been a pleasant for Members. He wants to work with members. Along with the inquest, there are currently 158 projects under the transformation plan. The Transformational plan is independent of CNZ, and is due to be completed in December, when it will be handed over to the board to consider. It was also noted that for all clubs the changes the Incorporated Societies Act 1908 will have an effect and it will be timely to consider what changes need to be made to the Club constitutions – and CNZ want to work with the clubs to they are kept up to date with what is needed.

KS & KP are presenting to HPNZ tomorrow

Motion that the Presidents Reports be affirmed, and to be confirm at a special general meeting

Erin Criglington/Brendan Patterson

CARRIED

7.0 ELECTION OF OFFICERS -

Nominations:

PRESIDENT Erin Criglington (Cycling Southland)

VICE PRESIDENT No nominations received

ISLAND DELEGATES

North Island Brendan Patterson (Auckland Schools Cycling)

South Island Ryan Cooney (Southerncross Cyclocross Inc)

To be carried forward to the special general meeting

8.0 LIFE MEMBERSHIP

No nominations for Life Membership received this year.

9.0 Appointment of PATRON

Erin Criglington nominated Bruce Goldsworthy to continue as Patron.

Motion that Bruce Goldsworthy be appointed as Patron of CNZ RTX

Erin Criglington / John McDonnell

CARRIED

Bruce Goldsworthy addressed the meeting. He was honoured and proud to be appointed as Patron and was more than happy to contribute as and when needed

10.0 AWARDS

Following awards have been presented earlier in the year:

Women Elite Road Cyclist of the Year - Nianh Fisher- Black

Men Elite Road Cyclist of the Year - Patrick Bevin

Women Junior Road Cyclist of the Year - Bonnie Rattray

Men Junior Road Cyclist of the Year - Lewis Bower

Women Elite Track Cyclist of the Year - Bryony Botha

Men Elite Track Cyclist of the Year - Aaron Gate

Women Junior Track Cyclist of the Year - Amelia Skyes

Men Junior Track Cyclist of the Year - Joel Douglas

Men Emerging Talent: Track - George Jackson

Women Emerging Talent: Track - Rebecca Petch

Women Emerging Talent: Road - Ella Wyllie

Men Emerging Talent: Road - Logan Currie

Due to some issues regarding the circulation of the nomination request form, the balance of the awards will be announced at a later date

The Malayan Cup -

Shona Smith Trophy -

Contribution to Cycling Award -

Coach/Manager of the Year -

Volunteer of the Year -

Female Masters Rider of the Year -

Male Masters Rider of the Year -

11.0 REMIITS

No remits were received

12.0 GENERAL BUSINESS

No items of General Business were received

13.0 Special meeting

The date for the special general meeting will be confirmed as soon as practical.

BG noted that it is important that communication is sent out to clubs and voting members highlighting the importance to participate in the AGM to keep RTX

SS noted the special general meeting will be a good opportunity for to all member to be updated upon the Incorporated Societies Act Changes.

BG asked if CNZ in a position to present to the clubs?

SP noted that CNZ will take the opportunity to present to clubs however tis would be in at least 3 months' time. SP did offer to provide a summary in the interim at the SGM

GB affirmed and issued a vote of confidence in the current Council and Nominees and to continue until the SGM

JM queries the use of Teams over zoom and consideration will be given as to the best online platform to be used for the SGM

14.0 2023 AGM Venue

Date and Venue will be formally advised by CNZ RTX.

15.0 CLOSURE

CNZRTX Meeting closed at 8:26